Paul-Georg Dittrich, Direction

Paul-Georg Dittrich

Paul-Georg Dittrich

Paul-Georg Dittrich, born in Königs Wusterhausen, near Berlin, is a freelancing German opera director. He was graduated at Hamburg’s renowned Hochschule für Musik und Theaterin 2011. Important commissions led him to Stuttgart’s Württembergische Staatsoper, where he directed «Boris Godunov», preceded by Sergej Nevski’s prologue «Secondhand Time» as a contemporary introduction, and to Berlin’s Deutsche Oper, where he staged the world premiere of Malte Giesens «Wolfsschlucht», an overwriting (“Überschreibung”) of Carl Maria von Weber’s high tension scene.

Having staged six productions there, Paul-Georg Dittrich considers Theater Bremen as his first artistic home and workshop. “Fidelio”, co-produced with the Staatstheater Darmstadt, was followed «La damnation de Faust», «Wozzeck», «Lucia di Lammermoor» and  «Falstaff», four confrontations with masterpieces of the classical “canon”, seen through the eyes of a new generation. Two of his works in Bremen were nominated for the finals of FAUST, Germany’s highly respected theatre prize. 

Dittrich’s «I.TH.AK.A.» was the «outstanding» and prizewinning production in Hamburg’s Rolf Mares competition. Further invitations brought him to Halle («Ariadne auf Naxos»), Essen («Orfeo I Euridice» and «Duke Bluebeard’s Castle»), Bielefeld («Otello»), Oberhausen («A Midsummer Night’s Dream»), Aachen («The Order» und «Orlando»), Erlangen («Anger») und Schleswig-Holstein («The Good Person of Szechwan»). Highly respected and acclaimed by both public and press, Paul-Georg Dittrich revived Auber’s «La muette de Portici» by interweaving the original score with elements of the works’s singular impact history. 

Paul-Georg Dittrich is about to open the forthcoming season with «Tannhäuser» in Essen, to be followed by Zemlinsky’s “Der Zwerg” in Cologne, «Elektra» in Munster, «Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg» in Linz und the «Mauser Tryptichon» in Schwerin, a “Musiktheater project” based on Heiner Müller’s drama and music by J.S. Bach, Luigi Nono and Paul-Heinz Dittrich.